Proactively Addressing Regional Wastewater Issues for the Public's Benefit



NEWS

www.metrojpa.org

For Immediate Release

Contact:

Mark Robak (619) 778-3800 OtayWater@cox.net

METRO WASTEWATER COMMISSION/JPA ELECTS BOARD OFFICERS

Mark Robak Elected Chairman, Ewin Vice Chairman

SAN DIEGO, CA – The Metropolitan Wastewater Joint Powers Authority (JPA) has elected Otay Water District Board Member Mark Robak as its Chairman, and City of La Mesa Councilman Ernest Ewin as its Vice Chairman.

Director Robak was elected to the Otay Water District Board of Directors in 2004 and was recently re-elected to serve a second term in November of 2008. He serves the district as the Chairman of its Finance, Administration and Communication Committee, and was formerly Chairman of its Engineering Committee. He is also the President of the Water Conservation Garden at Cuyamaca College, serving in that capacity since 2006, and previously served on the Board of Directors of the Padre Dam Municipal Water District from 1996 to 2000. Robak has been Otay's representative to the Metro Waste Water JPA since 2005.

"It's an honor to be stepping into the role of Chairman, and I'd like to thank my colleagues for their support" said Robak. "I'm proud to carry on the proactive leadership of the Metro Commission Board of Directors and look forward to working with them to improve the quality of services we deliver to our customers."

The Metropolitan Wastewater JPA is a coalition of municipalities and special districts that share in the use of the City of San Diego's regional wastewater facilities. The Metro JPA grew out of the Metro Wastewater Commission, which was formed in 1998 to give these cities and districts a stronger voice in the operation of the sewer system. While wastewater remains a key focus, the Metro JPA now addresses all important water-related issues, including the need for conservation, water recycling, and protecting the ocean environment.

Vice Chairman Ernest Ewin is now serving his 11th year as an elected official. Re-elected to a four-year term on the La Mesa City Council in November 2006, Ewin first served as a Councilman from 1985 through 1990. Ewin was a founding member of the San Diego Trolley Board of Directors and currently is La Mesa's representative to the Metropolitan Transit Board (MTS) as well as the Metro Waste Water JPA.

The JPA member agencies are the cities of Chula Vista, Coronado, Del Mar, El Cajon, Imperial Beach, La Mesa, National City and Poway; the Lemon Grove Sanitation District; the Padre Dam Municipal Water District and Otay Water District; and the County of San Diego (on behalf of the Winter Gardens Sewer Maintenance District, and the Alpine, Lakeside and Spring Valley Sanitation Districts). These agencies collectively pay for approximately 35 percent of the system's upkeep and capital costs. Usage rates are based on the percentage of wastewater flow they generate.

###